BACP Universities & Colleges A Division of BACP

Executive Committee

Geraldine Dufour, Chair

I am currently Head of Counselling at Cambridge where I lead a large team of counsellors and mental health advisors. Previously, I managed the counselling service at Birmingham City University after working in various agencies providing counselling services for drug and alcohol users, sexual abuse survivors and young people. I am a member of HUCS and coordinate its mentoring and consultation scheme.  

Email: geraldine.dufour@adm.cam.ac.uk

Jeremy Christey, Past Chair

I first trained in 1986 and am currently a counsellor at Sussex University. I was chair of BACP UC from 2014 to 2017, a time of reorganisation within BACP and the sector as a whole. I have been representing the sector in national initiatives and working closely with the NUS.

During late 2017 to 2018 I have taken a sabbatical to work on some global initiatives in digital psychiatry, combining big data and technology, including artificial intelligence (AI). to improve women's mental health.

Email: j.christey@sussex.ac.uk

David Mair, UC journal editor

I have worked in student counselling for over 12 years, and prior to that my background was working with international students in HE and in teaching. I have a strong interest in equality and diversity issues and how they impinge on client wellbeing, and on the counsellor-client relationship.

Email: david.mair@bacp.ac.uk or d.j.mair@bham.ac.uk

Eamonn O'Mahony, Chair of Staff Counselling special interest group

I have been the Staff Counsellor at the University of East Anglia for the last 15 years. I provide largely one to one counselling for staff and run occasional workshops and course in collaboration with Staff Development. I have also been a a trainer, working for five years on the one year full time Postgraduate Diploma in Counselling at the University of East Anglia. 

Email: e.omahony@uea.ac.uk

Mary Jones, Chair of FE special interest group

I have been Student and Staff Counsellor at Newcastle under Lyme FE College for 12 years. I have been part of the Counsellors in FE subcommittee of the BACP UC for eight years and Chair for two. I regularly contribute to the University and College Counselling journal and coordinate both the UC and Counsellors in FE jiscmail.

Email: mary.jones@nulc.ac.uk

Alan Percy, Chair of HUCS special interest group

Email: alan.percy@admin.ox.ac.uk

Jane Darougar, Sixth Form representative

I am currently College Counsellor at Leyton Sixth Form College and a lecturer in counselling at Hackney Community College. I have 17 years’ experience of counselling and running a service in both FE and sixth form in north and east London. I've been on the BACP UC FE Special Interest Group since 2015 and on the Executive Committee since 2017.

Email: jane.darougar@leyton.ac.uk

Yvonne Harris

Email: y.harris@mmu.ac.uk

Mark Fudge

Email: m.l.fudge@keele.ac.uk

Afra Turner

I currently work as a Cognitive Behaviour Psychotherapist (BABCP accredited) at Kings College London Counselling Service and supervise counsellors and mental health advisors working in HE. I have over 20 years of experience in the sector, having originally qualified as a Psychodynamic Psychotherapist, MBACP and previously held the position of Deputy and Acting Head of Service. I served on the Conference Committee and then the Executive before starting a family. I returned in 2017 to contribute to the establishment of a research culture that promotes the work of practice based therapists, an interest I've developed since beginning a Doctorate in Psychotherapy in 2016.

Email: afra.turner@kcl.ac.uk

Counsellors in FE and SFC sub committee

This sub committee works to promote the voice and interests of counsellors working in the sector. We submit articles to the journal and have produced research into pay scales and conditions. We also collaboratively produced a video promoting counselling services in FE and SFC. Most of our members are on the jiscmail, our most immediate and vibrant resource. To join, please contact Mary Jones or email counsellors-in-fe-request@jiscmail.ac.uk.

Mary Jones, Chair

Email: mary.jones@nulc.ac.uk

Jane Darougar

Email: jane.darougar@leyton.ac.uk

Kirsten Amis

Email: kamis@glasgowclyde.ac.uk

Gillian Yorke

Email: gillian.yorke@sjr.ac.uk